Asserting Your Rights And Protecting Your Future

Put An Experienced Fighter In Your Corner If You’ve Been Charged With Excessive DUI

Anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above .08% is considered legally drunk and can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). But Idaho, like many other states, also has laws penalizing BACs considered especially high. An Excessive DUI in Idaho is classified as a BAC of .20% or higher. The first charge is a misdemeanor. If a driver receives a second excessive DUI charge within the next five years, however, it will be charged as a felony.

If you find yourself facing regular or excessive DUI charges in the Boise area, contact Martens Law Office, P.C.. Our attorney brings over 20 years of experience to each case, and he has earned a reputation for his aggressive advocacy on behalf of clients.

What Are The Penalties For Excessive DUI In Idaho?

The penalties for excessive DUI include:

  • Fines: The maximum fine you can receive for an excessive DUI conviction is $2,000 for a first-time offense and up to $5,000 for a second. This does not include other fines or fees like attorney fees, bail or court costs.
  • Jail time: A minimum of 10 days jail time, but the state can impose a sentence of up to a year in jail for the first offense. The first 48 hours of jail time will be consecutive regardless of sentence length. Jail time increases to a 30-day mandatory sentence with a maximum of 5 years in the state penitentiary.
  • License suspension: A first offense excessive DUI will have a 1-year mandatory license suspension after release from confinement without driving privileges of any kind. A second offense increases the license suspension to a maximum of five years.
  • Alcohol evaluation: If charged, you will undergo alcohol evaluation. Counseling, alcohol education and rehabilitation are possibilities.
  • Ignition interlock device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle once driving privileges have been restored.

Additional penalties for first-time excessive DUI include mandatory attendance at a DUI victim’s panel as well as the requirement to purchase SR-22 high-risk insurance. Needless to say, you cannot afford to ignore or minimize the costs and consequences of any DUI-related charge, nor should you decide to take a guilty plea without discussing your options with an experienced and aggressive defense attorney.

Free And Confidential Consultations Available – Contact Us Today

Martens Law Office, P.C., is based in Boise, Idaho, and we serve clients throughout Ada County. To schedule a free consultation about your legal charges and defense options, call us at 208-435-1132 or submit an online contact form. Don’t wait to take legal action. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can begin building your defense.