A Law Firm Fighting For Young People Charged With Minor Consumption And Other Alcohol Offenses
In Idaho, it is a misdemeanor crime to consume or possess alcoholic beverages of any kind if you are under the age of 21. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Idaho for minor consumption of alcohol, minor in possession of alcohol or illegal consumption and possession of alcohol, you should seek the advice and counsel of an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney. In Boise and surrounding areas, the choice is easy: Martens Law Office, P.C.. Our attorney, Jared B. Martens, represents individuals charged with all manner of alcohol-related criminal offenses, and he has a strong track record of success on behalf of clients. You and your case will benefit from his courtroom experience and his focus on serving the whole client.
Idaho Penalties For Minor Consumption And Possession Of Alcohol
Anyone convicted of minor in possession or consumption of alcohol in Idaho will find themselves facing some unpleasant consequences. For a first-time offense, as an infraction, you will be fined $300.00. For a second offense, the Idaho court could sentence you to a $2,000 fine and put you in jail for 30 days. For a third offense, the judge could sentence you to 60 days in jail and up to a $3,000 fine.
It makes very little sense that your driver’s license would be suspended if you are caught drinking underage when no motor vehicle is involved, but in Idaho on a second or subsequent offense, the judge must suspend your driver’s license. Interestingly, the statute does not mandate a minimum period, it just says that the court must suspend your driver’s license for up to one year on a second offense, and up to two years on a third offense. That means that with proper legal counsel, the judge could be convinced to suspend your driving privileges for one day and the judge would have fulfilled the requirements of Idaho law.
Finally, the judge could order that you obtain an alcohol evaluation prior to sentencing. Alcohol evaluations and treatments are left to the discretion of the court. In all likelihood, the judge will order a minimum of eight hours of alcohol treatment prior to sentencing.
Speak To An Attorney About Your Legal Options For Free
If you have been charged with minor consumption or possession of alcohol by a minor, open container, DUI or any other criminal offense, contact Martens Law Office, P.C., and speak with Jared B. Martens about your rights and options. Call our office in Boise, Idaho, at 208-435-1132 or reach out online.